Observation of the Day (OOTD)

If you are my manicurist/hair dresser/bartender, don’t try to out-story me. If I’m telling you my woes or my triumphs, consider that one of the costs of doing business. Don’t share yours. Out-storying the client reduces the tip.

3 Responses to “Observation of the Day (OOTD)”


  1. 1 honourmcmillan February 11, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    LOL I could have told them that :p

  2. 2 Chestnut Rau February 12, 2015 at 10:39 am

    Years ago I was really stressed out. Two kids, big job, house renovations and all of the normal stresses of life had gotten to me. So, I scheduled a massage. The massage therapist spent the entire hour telling me about her abusive alcoholic boyfriend. I was sympathetic to her terrible situation but when I left I felt totally ripped off. Don’t out story the client indeed.

  3. 3 ahuva18 February 12, 2015 at 12:28 pm

    *grin* I’ll have to hire you to be my attendant, @Honour, so you can warn them off for me.

    @Chestnut – that is EXACTLY how it went. Went off on a much needed solo vacation to the tropics. booked a mani/pedi and a massage. I mentioned casually why I’d gone away alone and the manicurist began an hour of conversation about her terrible home life, her step-mother, useless sisters, dealing as executor of her father’s will ad nauseum. soooo didn’t work for me. And you know what else??? It was a crummy manicure! She claimed it would last a week. Chipped the next day. She should have paid more attention to my nails than to her storyline.


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

