Erev New Year’s Eve


Following Samoa’s lead, Calli’s Friday Night TriBeCa Blues Regulars did away with December 30th and jumped right to December 31st. We had decided last week that we wished to spend New Year’s Eve together, but that other commitments would make that difficult. So we agreed to celebrate New Year’s Eve early, a practice run as it were. Or, in the Jewish tradition of holidays beginning at sundown the night before, we would celebrate Erev New Year’s Eve. /me grins. See – slowly, Lalo and I are turning you to our path…. *giggle*

Friday nights at Tribeca may be my favorite time in SL. Calli is a fantastic DJ. When she is at TriBeCa she spins an eclectic set of vocal jazz, although that’s mostly a starting point. We have ranged far and wide from that jump-off. The other wonderful thing about Friday nights at Tribeca is that Calli can’t tell time. *grin* So although she is booked from 7-9pm SLT, we have NEVER EVER stopped at 9pm. Oh fine, maybe once. But I don’t actually REMEMBER that. I’m merely conceding that it is possible. 🙂 Last night her sense of time was even more dilute than usual, which is as it should be for a celebration.

We did miss some of our regulars (and you KNOW who you are and you KNOW that I will scold you) but there were many new folk who joined in. Conversation is usually lively and interesting. Like the music, we head down some interesting side roads. Eva Cassidy’s “Over The Rainbow” had finished playing and Louis Armstrong’s “What a Wonderful World” began. Tor Karlsvalt commented that it was a really good song for SL. Then he added: should be an anthem. I think that’s brilliant. In so many ways, this song sums up what SL is for me – a wonderful world.

It was a wonderful, magical, lovely evening. For those of you who weren’t there, please come and join us some Friday at TriBeCa Blues. For those of you who were there – thank you thank you thank you. Wishing you and yours a happy healthy new year to come, filled with joy and success.

What A Wonderful World
Writer: GEORGE DAVID WEISS, GEORGE DOUGLAS, BOB THIELE

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
They’re really saying I love you.

I hear babies crying, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world
Yes I think to myself what a wonderful world.

0 Responses to “Erev New Year’s Eve”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

