Treptower Park

I am a careless reader. I read very quickly. I speed-read, looking for key words. I read down the middle of the page. If key information is on the edges of a window/page, I usually miss it. Now, speed reading has served me very well in my life. Lately – not so much. Unfortunately in this computer age, there is a LOT of information on the edges of the window. I tend to miss it. When people write flowing descriptions, paragraphs of detail and atmosphere and ambiance, I look for the action verbs. And so sometimes I come away with a mistaken impression of what I read. Honour’s post on Treptower Park is a perfect case in point. I love looking at her photos. I like reading her text, but I speed read it. And so what *I* saw was “balloon ride”. Well, yes. As you can see, there IS a balloon ride. But no, NOT what I think of when I think “balloon ride”.

If I were a typical child of today’s societies, I would blame Honour for my mistake. After all, I did look at her photos and what I saw appeared harmless enough. Perhaps, to be fair, the climatic conditions were different on her visit. Oura and I stopped by Treptower Park the other night, hoping for a balloon ride. Instead, we rezzed into an electrical storm. Rain. Lightening. Thunder. Wet. I’m pretty sure that I’ve mentioned the last few months of my atomic life have been all too full of misplaced water. Hurricanes that flooded my basement and my attic. Fall snowstorms that needed shoveling and destroyed trees. Heavy rain storms that have flooded through my sky light and into my breakfast room, necessitating buckets and mops. I’m really really REALLY tired of mopping up after Mother Nature. So to find myself in the rain, in a flooded swampy terrain, with lightening, and to have no umbrella, no raincoat, no rainboots – well – I was a bit perturbed.

On the other hand, Oura and I were out playing so how bad could it be, right? Oura takes good care of me on these excursions. SHE reads the text that appears, SHE pays attention to what’s happening, and she is more than willing to re-tp me in so I can get the important welcoming messages. 🙂 Definitely pay attention to the welcoming message and let the venue adjust your Windlight settings. We read the instructions for the balloons – turn off your AO and sit. She went first so I could try for some photos. As she started to sail off into the sky, I realized she was right next to the power lines!!!! I called to her but the wind carried off my voice. I attempted to jump onto the other balloon and go after her, but….. apparently not. Seems you can only ride the dark balloon, not the light one. Bummer. We weren’t going to be balloon riding side-by-side, as I’d imagined. Maybe I should have read something more carefully…..

Oura brought the balloon back and it was my turn. As usual, it took me a bit to figure out what to do, because I had to read directions. /me hums tunelessly. I finally got moving (well, if you ignore getting mired in the water for a bit because I flew too low, no Icarus I). Treptower Park is creepy. Dramatic, interesting but creepy and wet. That is not a criticism mind you – those are factoids. As you can see, this is not what I would typically think of as a balloon ride. As I drifted along the barbed-wired wall, I approached a sign that warned me I was leaving the American sector. I figured I’d better get myself back to Oura.

Oura had started wandering about on foot (really a MUCH better way to appreciate this venue). I landed and began to do the same. Many of the rides were still working although most were broken and in disrepair. I hoped for a bit that the storm was going to clear and move off.

We discovered to our great delight that the carousel was still working. It was a bit wet wading across to the horses but once we were mounted we were out of the flood and out of the rain that had begun falling. There are some things floating in the water that really give you pause. I’m not sure WHAT happened here exactly, but I’m fairly certain that I want to go through a detoxification process. And soon. We left the carousel to continue exploring. It was still raining so we were quite excited to find an umbrella blowing in the wind. Oura tried to grab it, but the wind was too strong.

We found the trampoline (which works) and the remains of a ferris wheel. By this time it was storming quite a bit. Oura went to take shelter in one of the cages of the ferris wheel. In hindsight, I’m not sure that was really the safest shelter from the storm. Oh sure, we were out of the water. But we were sitting in a big metal lightening rod. As if that wasn’t foolish enough, I took Oura’s dare and went out on the tightrope. I’m not sure what kind of idiot walks a tightrope in an electrical storm but I think the word would be “Ahuva”. Or “Oura”.

We were tired of being rained on and dodging lightening bolts so we sat in the ferris wheel and talked and talked. We were fairly sheltered from the wet, and the periodic lightening lit up the darkness for us. It ended up being a lovely way to watch the storm.

So I recommend a visit to Treptower Park. You may, however, wish to dress more appropriately than I did. Wander about and take some time. When the lightening flashes and lights up the world, there are so many details and intricacies to see. The lightening is spectacular. I loved the clouds and the trees. There is also a lot to DO as well as see. There are many pose balls and activities. The posters are fascinating. This is truly an evocative build. And yes – there IS a balloon ride.

2 Responses to “Treptower Park”


  1. 1 honourmcmillan November 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    /me sighs
    You don’t read every word I write?

  2. 2 Oura Scribe November 29, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Inside every life a little rain must fall. I feel privileged to have shared it with you 🙂 Besides it makes for pretty flowers in the spring.

    Great find Honour. I’m glad Ahuva reads your post and shares with me. I am lazy and must admit I rarely read more than Ahuva’s posts.

    LOL


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

