We Interrupt This Program

The earthquake was amusing but did not do any damage. It was fun to swap stories with friends. None of us, thank our lucky stars, suffered any ill effect. Hurricane Irene decided to remedy that. The good news is that all of my preventative measures worked. The bad news is that we lost power and the sump pump failed and the basement flooded. Yes, it was a carpeted “finished” basement. We didn’t lose any of the electrical appliances: washer, dryer, refrigerator, treadmill, rowing machine. The dryer seems to work, but I don’t think there is any heat. I think that is a matter of getting the pilot light relit. Or something. The carpet is a total loss. I’m tossing the couches as well. I think the bookcases and desk will be okay once they dry. I’m not as sure about one of the cabinets. All told, that’s not so bad. There are still people without power, which often means no water if they have well water. Now that the carpet is out of the house, I’m hopeful the stench will clear. I tried to get a cleanup company to handle the job but for some reason, they’ve still not called back. It’s been 2 days (yes, I called each day and will call again today.) I wonder what could be keeping them? 🙂 I still hope to get them to come and do a major cleanup and disinfect the place before I try to put things back. I can’t clean/disinfect under the big appliances. In the meantime I will spray some bleach and mop the areas where we walk.

All in all, it wasn’t that terrible. Yes, I’m exhausted and aching. On Monday and Tuesday when the last of the adrenaline rush had faded, I was somewhat dispirited and emo. I think I have an ulcer again. I seem to recognize that familiar pain in the gut and back. It’s still hard waking up and realizing that the mess is still there and there is still more I have to do.

On the other hand, it could have been much, much worse. I could live in Burlington County, NJ. In the space of 5 days we had an earthquake and a hurricane. But Burlington – that wasn’t good enough for them. The hurricane spawned a tornado. Can you imagine? After a summer of killer heat, to have an earthquake, hurricane and tornado within 5 days. I’m feeling fortunate.

0 Responses to “We Interrupt This Program”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

