Ponehs!

When I embraced a virtual life style three years ago, one of the most difficult transitions for me was the common SL practice of deliberate mis-spelled words. *shudder* My first experience with LOLcats was painful. While I am not sure that I embrace this convention whole-heartedly, it no longer makes me cringe to see it or even to follow on occasion. It seems to me that when I am posting about the ponies of Carriage Trade, the appropriate spelling IS “ponehs!”.

Shenlei gave me a “heads-up” earlier in the day that the ponehs had a special surprise later that evening. When she began shaking the feed box in group chat, and calling the ponehs in from the field, I also “pricked up my ears” and moseyed back to the barn. In the best American beer commercial tradition, the ponehs had been rewarded with their very own beer wagon. Long-time SL residents understand that while building a multi-avatar conveyance is tricky, scripting it requires even more finesse. The Carriage Trade beer wagon is scripted for 8 ponies, a driver, and 2 riders (one on top of the beer barrels).

I got to hop on top of the beer barrels (of course. *grin* I’m kicking myself that I didn’t think to rez a bottle to enjoy during the ride). Shen was driving and the ponehs were having a ton of fun, based on the local chat. We spent a bit of time racing about the sim, accompanied by riders and horses cheering us on. The ponehs handled the turns with no trouble (I learned that the technical term is “feather the curve”) and never seemed to grow fatigued, despite the barrels. Of course, the barrels WERE being emptied during the evening. I mean – the beer was THERE. Wouldn’t YOU????

There always seems to be a lot of fun going on at Carriage Trade. The stalls are full of horses and ponies. There are rides – horseback and carriage-drawn – available for non-equine avatars. I always come away from my time there with a big smile on my face.

But… there was ONE avatar who wasn’t smiling last night. No, the expression there was one of longing. Wistful longing. Dreams. What do you think – can a ZEBRA be a beer-wagon poneh????? I sense a commercial in the making. *grin* L’chaim, all! To your health!

0 Responses to “Ponehs!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

