Weekend Wanderings

can-i-interest-you-in-this-modelThe problem with spending so much of my work week in virtual worlds is that I am now finding it much harder to work on the weekends. I used to script on the weekends. I got a lot done. Now – I IM and I shop and I try to hang out more with friends. And all the while I whine about how I SHOULD be working. It’s a wonder they don’t back-hand me across the sim. Thank you all for that, by the way. 🙂 I appreciate your self-control.

The other day I took Hell and Nat is-that-a-mosh-pitto one of the interesting places I have found (Thanks Krissy, for pointing out a fun, new place to explore Krissy always IMs me to tell me neat builds and sims that she is exploring!). I like the cool vehicles that people have created in SL. We looked at the bikes and other toys for a bit. Hell and I both want that bike, but suspect that it falls outside our disposable income. 🙂 And we’d need someplace to race them. C’mon all of you – I am SURE that there is some speedway out there where we could take our cars and choppers and whatevers and race. I mostly hang out where there is beach and water and flowers and trees. But I could really be persuaded to landmark a speedway.

makes-me-smileSo from the roaring exhaust to the quiet peace of another land. On one of my many attempts to find land and a place to call my own, my “realtor” showed me this build. Perhaps it was the color (have you noticed that I like red?) or perhaps it was the style, but I really liked it. Unfortunately, it didn’t suit my purposes and so I kept looking. I’ve kept it in mind however and saved the lm in case it should ever be the answer to the question.

So the 3 of us hung out there, party-plannerschatting and taking pictures. (I wonder if I will ever have the patience or time to learn to take photos as lovely as Nat’s? She was kind enough to get me as well.) As we relaxed and realized that there was no one around and how large the space was, we realized we had mission: PARTY!!! Oh yeah, we are going to throw a party there. 🙂 It’s a bit laggy, this is true, and there are some issues with rezzing things, but we have already begun figuring a way around it. If there are no neighbors – well, there’s no one to call Security and get us evicted. LOL.

2 Responses to “Weekend Wanderings”


  1. 1 daleinnis February 26, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Woot, illegal raves! 🙂

    There are at least a few very nice speedways that anyone can go to and rez vehicles and race around on (as long as there isn’t an official event scheduled). I don’t have any LMs though, I don’t think; as I recall I just go to Search / Places and type in “racetrack and go to some promising hit…

  2. 2 Jaymin Carthage February 27, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    I was also sorely disappointed with the state of SL racetracks. I found them lame in the extreme. I was commissioned, by Tez, to build a racetrack “that would fill the sim”. I didn’t find anything already existing so I built my own once.
    Some pictures are here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jjaquinta/tags/racetrack
    Of course, the downside of a self-generating multi-layout racetrack that “fills a sim” is that you need a sim to fill it with. So, sadly, I don’t actually have it up and running anywhere.
    But, if you go into the SW corner of the IBM sandbox, there’s a little box (with some cuneiform over it) that will rezz the six different racetrack layouts in miniature.
    (Oh, my blog is FINALLY up and running again!)


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

