Personal Business

Maybe you’ve noticed by now that my method of dealing with pain is to drag it out in the open, stare at it, try to find something humorous about it, let go of the anger, and then remedy whatever caused the pain. Well, that’s what I think I do. LOL. Probably that’s not what I do at all, but since I’m too close to the situation, I can’t see what it is that I REALLY do. ๐Ÿ™‚ But that’s life, isn’t it?

So having nursed the indignity of being told that I was “stiff”, having received much loving care and ego-strokes from my friends AND gotten a post out of it as well, I decided that the time had come to address the issue. ๐Ÿ™‚ There were two options: buy or make. Oh, remember my brave dreams and words back in June, when I thought that I might actually learn to build and script? ๐Ÿ™‚ Somehow I’ve been side-tracked into partying and socializing and viewing art and, of course, buying boots. So although I do WANT to learn to build my own AO, I decided that would take too long. My injured pride needed salve NOW. So I began looking. Since I trust Bailey and Chestnut, I started looking at Vista AOs. Many times in SL, I know that I am “home”, that this is where I belong. Other times….. well, I figure I’m really in a bad anxiety dream and that, oh please, any moment I will wake up. Shopping for an AO falls into the anxiety dream category.

I did a search on “Vista” and tp’d to their main store. Maybe I was tired, maybe I’m simply an idiot. But I found the experience a bit overwhelming and numbing. I’d actually been there a few days (or maybe weeks by now) earlier and had been so taken aback by all the choices and options and gadgets that I’d fled. This time I resolved to hold my ground. I went to the first signs and machines up front. The typical AO try-outs that I’d seen in the past have stands. You stand on them and then click through the options for that AO. But these machines were simply posts – no stand. It seemed that I should be able to touch the machine and try different AO’s and walk about. At least, that is how *I* read the sign. I am as clueless now as I was the very first time I walked in there. But I figured I understood the other machines. So I steeled myself and went and tried every single AO package for females that they had. Oh wow. It never occurred to me that one “needed” so many options. Stands, walks, runs, flying, sitting, sit anywhere, crawl, swim, ab crunches (right – I am SO not in SL to exercise ๐Ÿ™‚ ). While all of the packages had some animations that I liked, most had more that I didn’t like. And they are quite expensive. Well, if I’d LIKED them more, they wouldn’t have been expensive. But to pay that much for only liking 20-30% and not liking 70-80%? Plus the packages seemed so similar. How to decide??? I tried Vista, Abraminations, and somewhere else. None of them appealed. So I quit.

Luckily Issa logged on shortly thereafter. I whined and moaned to her about how I “needed” an AO and didn’t know how to choose. To my great fortune and delight, Issa had time to play that night. And so off we went. Back to all the same stores where I’d been. But somehow it was so much less stressful with my own personal shopper!!! There have been MANY times in SL when I’ve been shopping and thought “If only there were someone to ask….”. So there’s a business niche for SL entrepreneurs: Personal Shopper. Maybe this service already exists in SL – heaven knows everything else seems to be there. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, Issa and I tp’d to store after store and I walked, stood, sat, crawled, swam and flew through all the AO paces. It’s curious, but it would become apparent nearly immediately whether or not an AO was “right” for me. Issa and I had much the same concept of what fit me and what simply was not me. I ended up buying an older model Vista AO. Of course Issa then had to give me a lesson on how to set it up, how to use it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Issa is a wonderful, patient kind soul who took the time to spell everything out in the simplest terms for me. Thank you Issa – you are the best!!!!!

So now I can stand with the most natural of them. ๐Ÿ™‚ I can walk my sexy walk. I can sit anywhere. When I fly, I have SUCH a lady-like way of landing. And I love my AO. Yep, I do. Now I know what X meant and, rats, X was right. I did look stiff and now I look better. LOL. I am still trying to remember to turn it off to dance and then remember to turn it back on. Turn it off to use a different sit and turn it back on. But I am getting a bit smoother at it all.

So /me tosses my hair back from my face, shifts weight, sits, crosses my legs and prepares to write about my adventures looking for a mani/pedi. ๐Ÿ™‚ Bet you can’t wait, huh?

4 Responses to “Personal Business”


  1. 1 Bailey Longcloth November 20, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Congrats on getting the AO! I know it can be daunting.

    Just a thought for you…. if you wear boots, why do you need a pedi?

    Keep in mind manis are *worn* as gloves and pedis as socks. I highly recommend modifiable skins that will let you change them yourself ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. 2 ahuva18 November 20, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Thanks Bailey!!

    I “NEED” a pedi for when I am sunbathing, of course! ๐Ÿ™‚ I did get a mani at Armidi and am indeed wearing it as gloves. I tried to figure out how to modify my skin to add the pedi myself, but didn’t see how/where to do it. Maybe that could be a lesson? Or another educational post on your blog????

  3. 3 chestnut November 20, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Ahuva I just love your open honest descriptions of your day to day SL. You make me smile.

  4. 4 Bailey Longcloth November 21, 2008 at 8:04 am

    I think that can be arranged Ahuva. I’ll do one up this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

