Monday Morning Musing

It’s Monday. It’s gray. The inter/intranet connection in the office is c….r…..a…..w….l….i….n……g. My feet are cold. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I’ve gotten a cup of hot tea and I am thinking about all the things I don’t understand.

I still don’t understand land in SL. I’m getting better, but I still don’t understand all the big corporations and owning islands and if you pay tier to a corporation do you actually own that land or do they own that land and what does it all mean anyway?

I don’t understand why we don’t teach our children properly about love, being in love, loving people. So many of us make the mistake of thinking that love somehow equates to perfect understanding. Complete unison. Wholeness. It doesn’t really work that way. And so we get confused, and then hurt and then angry. As a wise friend always says to me: The agenda of anger is pain. Took me YEARS to have even a clue what that meant.

I do understand hate and fear, unfortunately. What I don’t understand is why, after all these thousands of years, we aren’t any better at dealing with them.

I don’t understand why all the lights in my house can’t work at the same time. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have 3 burned out bulbs in the dining room but it’s the sockets, not the bulbs. And a broken socket in the front hall. I just got the kitchen ceiling fan light fixed a few weeks ago. And the washing machine is making “noises”. Is there some unwritten law of which I am unaware that says at least one electrical appliance in my house must be in non-working condition???

I promise you this: When *I* rule the world, things will be different. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 Responses to “Monday Morning Musing”


  1. 1 daleinnis November 3, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    I am listening to Tori Amos on my iPod!

    The whole issue of owning land is sort of convoluted, because “ownership” doesn’t have a single clear definition. When you own land on the mainland, you’re the person listed as the “owner” in the “About land” box. That is sometimes true when you “buy” land on a private island, and is sometimes not true. When you buy land on the mainland there is no third party between you and the Lindens, since they are the Estate Owner as well as (um) the owners of the world as a whole. When you buy land on a private island, the Estate Owner is someone other than LL, and often there’s a covenant, and in *some* sense the Estate Owner owns the island, although you own a piece of it (just like the Lindens own the whole mainland in *some* sense).

    Clear, eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think the law you’re thinking of, that says that not all your appliances can work at once, is the ol’ Second Law of Thermodynamics. Although it isn’t usually stated in terms of household objects…

  2. 2 ahuva18 November 3, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    well, those comments CERTAINLY cleared up EVERYTHING, Dale! ๐Ÿ™‚ not.

    Obviously instead of taking additional chemistry courses I should have taken that physics course. Now my appliances can sneak all sorts of unacceptable behavior past me. Instead of taking part in NaNoWriMo I will be rewriting the laws of physics. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 HellSpawneD Xingjian November 3, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    I think your forgetting the 100% infallible law that overides everything else.

    Sod’s Law!

    Just as you replace it all, something else will break. Life is awkward like that ๐Ÿ˜›


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

