They’ve said it better

I’m done commenting on the price increases. I don’t own land, I don’t fully understand land ownership in SL and I am not good at envisioning the future. I think that Landsend reflects most closely how I feel. I think that Dale may have the most realistic explanation for it all. I found Soph’s analysis both intriguing and funny. And Night (Yay! so glad she is back) discusses what should be done to prevent another drama like this in the future. That’s it. Read them and read Prad, Bailey and Honour. They are all far more informed and articulate than I. That’s why they are all on my blog roll. As for leaving SL for OpenLife… well, until I can have my hair and my boots, I’m not going. Yeah, I know – totally shallow. 🙂 But as long as Bailey and Honour and Prad and Dale and everyone else are here, so am I.

Aribeth posted the other day about how she felt betrayed and deceived when an SL friend lied about their RL self. I thought about that a lot before commenting on her post. I know that a lot of people come into SL to role-play. As my last post states, that’s not my purpose. I may be picking which of my RL aspects are emphasized, but I am still me. There is nothing about me in SL that is not true of me in RL. (At least, I don’t think there is. But the mind is a funny beast….) The reason I mention this here now is because of Krissy’s comment on my post. Krissy’s statement “And when I make a friend in sl, it’s with the intention of making a real friend. Not friends that are playing a role along side me” has me pondering the subject. I am still not convinced that role-playing is such a terrible thing. I believe that SL is a place where you can and should explore yourself. Role-playing only becomes an issue when you begin to form deep, emotional connections with others. If those people are also role-playing, I suspect there is no issue. But if those people are more akin to me and Krissy and Aribeth, I think that somewhere along the path to emotional intimacy, the role-player needs to reveal the person behind the facade. There is a post in here somewhere, but I need to think on it more and clarify for myself what is troublesome and when it becomes problematic. Since it has never happened to me, I don’t know what I’d do or feel. In the meantime, you might want to see what Ari has to say.

3 Responses to “They’ve said it better”


  1. 1 Krissy Muggleston October 31, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    The true rp’ers are very clear that they are doing just that. Which I have complete respect for. Especially because they want me to know this upfront. Just like someone commented to Aribeth, there is a time and a place for role play. What I take issue with are those people who rp in a way (and it’s not true rp it’s more deception) that would lead me to believe their rl is something it’s not. If you don’t want to share your rl, it’s ok. I’d rather know nothing then to know lies. And really, I think anyone would agree with that.

  2. 2 Krissy Muggleston October 31, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Are your comments moderated? Oh gosh.. loool I think I just submitted two. I thought my first one must have timed out. Please remove one of them. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. 3 ahuva18 October 31, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Thanks Krissy! Good point that Aribeth’s situation had to do with errors of commission, someone deliberately saying things about RL that were not true, as opposed to errors of omission. I agree with you – Don’t lie to me. Tell me nothing, but don’t lie.

    Not sure why wordpress held your post. 🙂 Silly computers.


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

