This was supposed to be fun

I’m still a little under the weather, so that makes me tired, and tired makes me less able to handle set-backs in a positive frame of mind.  I’m concerned with all the RL events – the economy, the elections, personal issues.  SL was a source of joy and escape for me.  A chance to have fun, to be free, to explore myself, to experience new things.  I really didn’t need another source of stress and confusion and upset and anger.  This is not about “me”, but I feel the tidal wave of emotions that is flooding the SL community. My SL friends know what I’m talking about.  For my RL friends, Linden Labs changed their pricing policy on Monday.  I’m not savvy enough to understand all the ramifications, but I do understand the anger and passion and frustration raging across the SL community.  Below are some links that I found informative. Mostly I’ve been reading the posts within the SecondLife blog/forums. You need to have an SL account to access them, so I won’t bother with links.

The announcement itself
Bailey Longcloth: Sigh
Prad Prithivi: The Death of a Dream
Crap Mariner: has interesting comments as well as links to other articulate posts.
NPIRL: Should we move to OpenLife?

3 Responses to “This was supposed to be fun”


  1. 1 Bailey Longcloth October 29, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Sorry you aren’t feeling well hon. Don’t stress out too much about the stuff going on right now. One of the things I’ve learned after 2 years is that the Lindens do change their minds and that we’ll all survive.

    If the new pricing stays, then the grid is going to change. Somethings will be better, others not. I’ll wait and see how it pans out. The only things I know for certain, Angel Square isn’t going anywhere, and the Crown is still gonna move. 🙂

    Feel better! ^^

  2. 2 ahuva18 October 29, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Thanks Bailey. I hope you are right, and that there will still be an SL that is fun and full of friends when this shakes out. You know I’m going to be sheltering in the Crown until this blows over.

    I liked your post today – rational, reasoned.
    http://baileylongcloth.wordpress.com/2008/10/29/24-hours-later/
    also see CodeBastard Redgrave:
    http://codebastardredgrave.com/

    I confess… I will probably head over to OpenLife tonight and see if I can get my name. 😦


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

