Ignore My First Question

LOL. Okay, I understand that no one is going to post an answer to my questions about sex. I had people approach me inworld to tell me their thoughts. They weren’t actually reluctant to talk about Why Sex? They simply had too much to say!! 🙂 I especially liked one description: “writing poetry”. And I’m thinking about the answer: “an exploration of sexuality in a new form”. Think on this one also: “some of the most loving moments I have had in SL did not involve cyber”. That one takes me back to my original question of “so WHY, then?”. Another response was that in RL “there’s a natural assumption that sex is bad, or dangerous, or an extreme thing”. That was worth exploring itself in another blog, but that responder continued on to say that whereas in RL you would say Why Sex, in SL you can say Why Not? Which was one of my thoughts as well – many of the RL constraints simply don’t exist. But everyone seemed to agree that it was an intense form of connection. That there has to be some sort of emotional connection first. Obviously this is skewed by the fact that I am NOT in some of the more extreme sims. I suspect I would get very different answers. So you are all off the hook – I do not expect any responses posted about sex.

But I DO expect you to tell me about falling in love!!!! 4 to 2 – “vulnerable” as the first or 2nd word to describe falling in love.

3 Responses to “Ignore My First Question”


  1. 1 daleinnis September 17, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Well, if you insist. 🙂 I’m another RL-male weighing in on the side of “exciting” or “exhiliarating” (only spelled right) coming before “vulnerable” or “scary” for me. So is society arranged in a way that falling in love is dangerous for women, but fun for men? Or do we bring our kids up to see it that way? Or are we biologically configured that way? Lots of room for idle and/or deep speculation there!

    There is certainly lot of sex-without-connection in SL, and I’m with you on not really understanding that. I had an SL friend once who (among other eccentricities) found it absolutely necessary to have as much sex as possible, preferably with strangers. He once TPd me to him to talk about something, and he was in one of those creep free-anonymous-sex places, naked on a rug with a naked woman, on one of the less interesting sex poseball sets, in a huge room with random strangers walking around. It was the Weirdest Thing Ever to me, and I still can’t really imagine what he was getting out of it. I suppose it’s possible he and the naked woman were having some intense IM conversation, but it definitely didn’t seem that way, and when I asked after her a day or two later he didn’t even remember her name. Just bizarre.

    But hey! Horse races and all…. 🙂

  2. 2 ahuva18 September 17, 2008 at 11:43 am

    /me makes rude face at Dale. When Amber noticed a flaw in YOUR weblog, she didn’t publicly embarrass you!!! Okay, so I spelled it wrong not once but twice. Perhaps I was under stress? Maybe I was being distracted? Hmph. I fixed it.

    Maybe the “friend” who tp’d you in to that scene was enacting some kind of power play? Whether on you or someone else, who knows. Glad it was you, not me!

  3. 3 daleinnis September 17, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Eeeek! I was insulting my spelling, not yours. Didn’t even notice that you’d spelled it wrong. 🙂

    Yeah, that friend is… interesting in various ways. 🙂 The creepy brightly-lit free-sex-with-strangers clubs seem popular and numerous, though, so there must be some story. (I also know from another friend of at least one “well-designed free-sex-with-probably-rather-interesting-strangers club”; I guiltily admit that I can see a bit of the possible attraction there…)


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

