Beach Party

What a great weekend! SL is so much better when there’s no packet loss! I was able to spend several hours inworld, seeing friends, shopping, partying. And I had FL fun too. So all my lives were cool!

Friday started quietly. I was organizing my inventory. I was getting tired of my jeans and looking for something fun to wear. That’s “fun” as in “girl fun”, not “fun” as in “new shape/gender” fun. 🙂 I didn’t have any party dresses. Oh, I have several long gowns and ornate outfits, but nothing for dancing. I love to dance! I love having my skirt twirl about me as I spin. No such thing in my SL closet. I decided I needed to go shopping.

Where does a gal with limited disposable income go to shop? Why the Freebies Dungeon in Deva Loka, of course! I’ve been there several times. I was sure that somewhere I would find a dress for dancing. For those of you who have never been to the Dungeon, I’ve included a glimpse into one of the myriad rooms. You can find anything and everything in there. Yes, I really do mean anything and everything. Certain rooms would not have been suitable for photographs. 🙂 Sometimes when I wander into a new room I am quite shocked. To buy something, you right-click on the photo (or the box – there are also rooms where there are cases and cases piled about). A window opens up showing you the items that make up that selection. You can either click on “buy” or cancel. Nearly everything costs $L0. Of course, my bad habits have followed me into SL. I found the room where the dresses cost MORE than $L0!!

But I fell in love with a dress that looked perfect for dancing. I decided it was well worth the expense: $L1. LOL. Yep – one dollar. So I picked up a few items, put on my new dress and headed back to the boardwalk. There were a few friends hanging about but I wanted to show my new dress to someone I thought would appreciate it. I noticed M was online so I IM’d and asked if I could model my outfit. M tp’d to join me. She decided that was a nice dress and a good price so we tp’d back so she could pick up some dresses too! At that price, who could resist?? Not us, obviously!

It was nearly time for the weekly beach party so I headed back to the boardwalk. The dancing had already started so I touched the party ball to join in. Except – I touched the wrong dance ball. LOL. Have you noticed a trend here? Just when I think I’m so cool and I know what to do and I’m going to fit right in, I pull a newbie move. 🙂 I touched the dance ball for the Tinies, not the dance ball for the – what are we, Not-Tinies?? LOL. Anyway, I was all squinched up and contorted. I looked pretty silly. But the LO (Land Officer) IM’d me and set me straight. I touched the tiny ball to stop dancing tiny style and touched the dance ball. Look at my beautiful new dress – see how nicely it twirls!!!

There was a lot of chat going on and then someone mentioned the (apparently) key phrase “Toob Race”. Everyone started racing to the water. I asked A what a toob race was. He decided a picture was worth a thousand words so we headed on down to the water. We touched the green toob balls and presto! an inner tube appeared. A was resplendent in his tux and I was in my new dress but that did not stop us!! We hopped into our inner tubes to join the race. You can see me in my multi-colored inner tube, lining up at the starting line. I don’t know how I got such a beautiful inner tube, but there was no question in MY mind that mine was the prettiest! You can see the course outlined on the board in front of us. There aren’t dragons in the NCI toob race – there are giant squid!!! Big orange squid!! Two of them. And they eat inner tubes!!! So if you paddle (use your arrow keys) too close to the squid – you are walking home. 🙂 The countdown began – Three, Two, One! And we were off! I was left bobbing in the wake as I tried to figure out how to paddle the tube properly. It’s very hard to paddle an inner tube when you are screaming with laughter. I am proud to say that I made it all the way around the course, inner-tube intact. (oooo – those squid are mean!!!!) I came in 10th out of 11, which I figured was just fine for my first race. NEXT week i’ll wear clothing that won’t slow me down (I’m SURE my dress was creating drag….) and I’ll be edged up closer to the starting line!

A and I and everyone else put away our inner tubes and headed back to the dance floor. The party was much fun – door prizes, Lucky Chairs (lucky chairs call out a letter, and if your name starts with that letter and you sit there first, you get the prize. I got a beautiful strapless green and black gown. Hmmm, I’ll need to find someplace to wear it!). Unfortunately, one of those annoying vampires showed up. He IM’d me offering a bite. Gross. I said no. The LO saw him offering bites and warned him and then bumped him from the land. It’s very hard for me to feel any pity for the vampires. There are signs posted all about NCI now warning them about the rules. I don’t need any vampire bites in my neck, thank you very much.

We continued dancing til the wee hours. Finally it was over. So I tp’d to a friend’s house. I was too tired to even kick off my shoes, so I simply stretched out on the bed and went to sleep.

0 Responses to “Beach Party”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

