Sitting Pretty

YES! FINALLY!!! All the pieces have come together and last night was what I thought hanging out in SL would be!! Although first I had to be scared silly before it all worked out.

My new router came 2 days ago. I left work and headed straight home to get it installed. Installing things like this are so NOT my forte! But I’d consulted with my co-workers, had all sorts of hints and tips and moral support. So I gave it a try.

It seemed to be very simple. Plug one computer directly into the cable modem, start the CD that came w/ the router. NBD. But then this software install popped up as well. I didn’t know exactly what it was. I let it unzip and install, but then attempted to back out. I could do that, but then my network wasn’t up and running. So back in I went and stumbled about, trying to get the machines in the house back online. Long story short, I got 2 machines up and on the internet. Seem to have knocked my printers off the network. Could NOT get my new laptop onto the wireless network. Still don’t know why. But I didn’t care because I had and have it hardwired directly to the router. So I was good to go for the Grace McDunnough concert!! I had new equipment, I had a body, I had inventory. Home stretch!

So I went to login to SL. I could NOT get logged in. It was 7:10 pm and the concert was at 9 and SL was not letting me login. I WANTED to scream and freak and hit the computer. But there was no one there to hear and I thought that perhaps breaking the pc was counter-productive. So I checked one of the new things I’ve finally learned: SL Grid Statistics. And look at that: SL was having login issues. It wasn’t me – it was THEM! So I puttered about for another hour.

Around 8:30 I logged in successfully. I saw other friends starting to come online too! Such fun – everyone IM’ing and chatting. I was hanging out with my usual beach crowd, catching up on the news and listening to the banter. It was nearly concert time. I met up with a friend and we tp’d over to the landing spot.

Ches had confided earlier that there would be a boat to take everyone across from the landing spot to the island. And there was! The island was gorgeous. For all the details about how it was created and by whom, check out What a Day! There were lots of people there. Very exciting for me – I got to meet so many people whom I’ve only met through blogs. I needed an AO that would let me jump up and down for joy! Grace gave a wonderful concert. She has a warm, rich, semi-throaty voice. It was a pleasure to hear her. All my hardware was working great too so I could hear perfectly. (So it WAS the router!!!) I pushed my rez back up to high and the water was stupendous. Shengri La may very well have the best water inworld.

It was a fantastic evening! Kudos to Chestnut & Zha for hosting it, to Shenlei Flasheart for building it, and to Grace McDunnough for the entertainment! You can see Michele, Dale and I sitting back and enjoying the evening!

4 Responses to “Sitting Pretty”


  1. 1 chesntut August 8, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I am so glad your frustrating computer issues are fixed. I am even happier you were able to come to Shengri La Love and join us for the show. We all took pictures of you Dale and Michele in your matching chairs I think! It was cute as anything.

    One more thing — that is Zha and I dancing behind you guys!

  2. 2 daleinnis August 8, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Yay! About time, too… šŸ™‚

  3. 3 eventsinextropia August 9, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    It was so good to see you, however briefly! I hope we cross paths again soon!


  1. 1 Four (4) small things « Dale Innis’s Weblog Trackback on August 8, 2008 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

