Is A Virtual World a Good Thing?

I’ve been wandering farther and farther afield, reading a variety of SL blogs. While I love looking at the pictures from SL, I find that the text that most interests me is when the author is contemplating the relationships between SL and RL. In my own head I have this Outer Limits/Star Trek/Matrix scenario where more and more of us live more and more in the virtual world, ultimately becoming nothing more than brains. Not a new theory, I know – I remember seeing brains glowing in cylinders on the original ST. What happens in between now and when we are all nothing but mental energy?

I found another blogger who has touched on this at least once, Ariane Barnes in her (I assume it is “her”) blog Virtual World Philosophy: Escape From Reality In that essay she talks about how the gas crisis and lack of fuel will “drive” more people into the virtual world. She has much less of a doomsday attitude than my science fiction approach.

But I found Virtual World Philosophy: The Uncanny Valley even more interesting. As I read the other blogs and hear about skins, parties, sailing, celebrity events, I wonder if I really have sufficient interest for this. Having to deal with skins is akin to fussing in RL about how I look, am I dressed properly for the event, blah blah blah. All that stuff that can be amusing if you have time, but so much of the time it is a colossal nuisance. Same with celebrity events. There is enough politic’ing in the office and even in other social organizations that I don’t want to have to negotiate all those fine lines for fun. I’m not the kind of person who plays Diplomacy.

Wikipedia’s definition of The uncanny valley:
“The uncanny valley is a hypothesis that when robots and other facsimiles of humans look and act almost, but not entirely, like actual humans, it causes a response of revulsion among human observers. The “valley” in question is a dip in a proposed graph of the positivity of human reaction as a function of a robot’s lifelikeness. “

Something related may be happening to me. Not revulsion. But maybe disenchantment. The more I hear of how immersed some people are, the more I hear about fussing with personal appearance, the more I hear that we will all be living in a virtual world, the less appealing SL sounds. I want to be free and have fun. I don’t want to drag all the every-day minutiae into this fantasy. How REAL do I want my fantasy to be? It sounds like it will take me hours to master some of these skills. Will that turn what has been an escape into simply another “gotta get an A on this exam” event?

Or does the fault, dear reader, lie not in my stars, but in myself? 🙂 Maybe I simply need some chocolate. 🙂

4 Responses to “Is A Virtual World a Good Thing?”


  1. 1 Melissa88 July 7, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I think this may be your own usual brand of “gotta get an A” surfacing in yet another venue. I went to The Tranquil Cafe last night for some live music. I’m still wearing jeans and a cute top (okay, it’s not my ORIGINAL jeans and cute top–but it’s the second set, and nothing special.) That’s what I wore to the Cafe. Someone else was a dragon, and someone else was dressed in some diaphanous white thing that made her look humanoid but not exactly human. ALL those AV “looks” were quite okay. In other words, IT DOESN”T MATTER! Just go and have fun with the novelty of it. There’s no right and wrong answer here… Maybe you can get an A… but even if you don’t, you won’t fail.

    Of course, I *do* still want some better hair!

  2. 2 daleinnis July 7, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Yeah, is all about teh having fun. And if it turns out that eventually you *want* to have a different skin or hair, you will have gotten comfortable enough in the world while having fun that it’ll seem trivial (or even fun!). At least that’s how it worked for me. 🙂 The great thing about SL (well, a great thing) is that there’s no pressure at all; you do what you want!

    Well, as long as you’re nice. And I know you are. 😉

    On people who think about the SL-RL relationship, I heartily recommend Botgirl: http://botgirl.blogspot.com/

  3. 3 ahuva18 July 7, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Botgirl is FANTASTIC!!!! Thank you!!! And she is very right about her Four Questions – it CAN be done.


  1. 1 Appearances DO Matter « Ahuva’s Blog Trackback on February 28, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

