Housing Disaster

Oh dear. Just when I think I know what I’m doing, I do something amazingly stupid. :( Did you know that textures need to be rezzed onto a prim? Maybe I knew that, but maybe I didn’t. I have several photos that are defined as textures in my inventory and I open them up just as if they were photos. So until Sunday morning, I never really paid attention to the differences. Oops……

Saturday night I went to an art show opening. Callipygian Christensen, Sysperia Poppy and Trindolyn Beck are showing their work at Chosen Misery. Calli had shown me some of the current pieces a few weeks ago. I’d fallen in love with one of them. I didn’t know that I’d fallen in love until I realized that I couldn’t stop thinking about the face and the lighting and the mood. So I told Calli that I thought I was in love and wanted to see the picture again. Sure enough, when I saw it Saturday night, I was still in love. So I bought it. My first artwork for my beautiful new house. No – I’m NOT posting a picture. If you want to see it, you have to come visit me. :) I also fell in love with a photo by Sysperia. In for a penny, in for a pound – I bought that one also.

Sunday morning I decided to hang my new artwork. I was quite excited to put them up on the walls, see where they would look best, how to size them for best viewing. I started with Calli’s. I rezzed it, sized it, put it on the wall next to the fireplace. It looked wonderful – just as I’d been imaging it all these weeks. So without thinking much about anything, I rezzed Sysp’s texture, to hang on the wall. Oh dear. It was a texture, not a texture on a prim. It GLOMMED onto the wall of the house. Full size – covering the wall upstairs and down. Okay, no big deal, I thought. I’ll just take it back and start again. Except……. It’s like this, for you RL friends…. the texture becomes part of the wall. Not only that, but this particular texture – it’s “no-copy”. That means I can use it only once. So….. my wall now had this picture all over it instead of being wall texture, and I couldn’t re-rez the texture onto a prim to hang because it was already in use. So I’d damaged both the wall and the texture.

And then it got worse…. As I said, I figured I’d fix everything by “taking” the texture back. So I did. But I “took” the wall. That is, I “took” my house. Suddenly I was up in the air with no house. I was falling. I looked at my bare empty land with my furniture floating 3 stories up, and my pool where it should be and my heart stopped. Oh My Word. I destroyed my house. I didn’t put it in place – Rez and Shenlei did that for me!!!!! Oh my. Oh no. Having RL pains in my chest, can’t breathe. My house…. Frantically I look at my friends list. No Shenlei. Bailey!!! Bailey is on!!!! I IM Bailey, hysterical. Bailey tells me to start breathing again and she tp’s in to my rescue.

I give Bailey all rights to my inventory, I rez my house again (floating detached from the pool now) and stand back to watch. Bailey nudges and tugs that house right back into alignment – perfectly!!! I don’t even have to fix the furniture or the flowers or anything!!!! My house is BACK!!!! She made it look so easy. I think she accomplished the whole process in less than 10 minutes. I think it took her longer to stop my hysteria than it took her to move the house into place. :) The wall was still textured with “Still Waters” (the Sysperia Poppy work), but Bailey needed to get back to work. I did not have the texture for the walls, so Bailey suggested that I contact both the architect who built the house and Sysperia, to ask for the textures. So I sent off notecards to both.

As I caught my breath and settled in to wait for replies, Shenlei logged in. I IM’d her to tell her of myenjoying-my-restored-walls-and-art latest fiasco. :) Shen, like Bailey, immediately jumped to help, despite being up to her chin in her own work. She tp’d over. She has a house similar to mine and she gave me her wall texture. Then she began to teach me how to retrieve that texture out of the wall. The woman has the patience of a saint. LOL. I’m sure there is something ironic in that sentence, but you KNOW that I adore you, Shen. :) Anyway, I was still being incredibly stupid (maybe I shouldn’t attempt SL until AFTER I drink my coffee??) and we must have gone through the same set of instructions five times before I understood how to get it right. Bingo! THERE was that texture within the content of the wall prim! I dragged it from there back into my inventory. YAY!!!! Shenlei trusted me to fix the wall texture and rez “Still Waters” correctly at that point and so returned home. I did indeed apply her wall texture successfully and it was a fairly close match. Not exact. But at that moment the architect IM’d me and sent me the correct texture. :) YAY!!! My house was in place and textured properly!!!!! Next I rezzed a prim, textured it with “Still Waters” and hung it above my bed. It looks fantastic!! And while I was doing that, Sysp came online and IM’d me to help out. She too was very kind and comforting, saying (as did all the others) that everyone makes mistakes like this on occasion.

Everyone was wonderfully helpful, kind and supportive. Each one of them took time from their busy lives IMMEDIATELY upon hearing of my distress. I am always so touched by the kindness and generosity of the people that I meet in SL. I know that some people blog about rudeness and incivility. I have been extremely fortunate in the people that I know and meet.

So….. it seems to me that I need to repay the generosity and kindness of my friends. Some big, dramatic, tell-the-world gesture. I don’t think that simply giving an object as a gift will suffice. I think that something more personal may be required. I am thinking over how best to implement my idea…….

6 Responses to “Housing Disaster”


  1. 1 Bailey Longcloth November 24, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I’m so glad we could help you Ahuva. :)

    I’m glad Shen was able to help you replace the wall texture. ;)

    If you only knew how many times I’d deleted half my house or put a texture on the floor. lol

    Ok, building 101 will happen on Angel Square this week. Stay tuned for details. :)

  2. 2 HellSpawneD Xingjian November 24, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    There is a way to ‘lock’ objects, so moving or deleting them comes back with an error first, asking you if you really want to go ahead with the destructive action. Plus Im sure it would have prevented that texture from transfering, but im not sure about that one.

    Sounds like a stressful moment, esp after you worked so hard getting your house the way you like it!!

  3. 3 Honour November 24, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    um Warn me when you’re planning to do something “big” OK? Given what happened when you just wanted to hang a picture….I’d like to be prepared.

    Just saying. :)

  4. 4 Krissy Muggleston November 24, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Omg Ahuva! I have a funny story I’ll share with you in-world sometime, that’s similar to this one. I feel your pain, and just for consolation, I didn’t learn my lesson the first time. ;)

  5. 5 Chestnut Rau November 24, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    This will make you feel better, Ahuva. You know we are building in the sky. That means we are using mega prims as a base and stand on those when we work. Both Zha and I have (on different occasions) accidentally deleted the base of the build as we were standing on them, sending us falling to the ground 700 meters below. I have deleted many a floor, wall and entire house in my day. I think its a right of passage.

  6. 6 ahuva18 November 25, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Thank you all!! Since misery does love company, I’m greatly comforted by the fact that these things don’t just happen to me. LOL.


Leave a Reply

Stat Counter

wordpress analytics

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

